Humility, Gravity

The fourth rides into the most painfully obvious milestone that which I’ve neglected. Humility: potentially my weakest quality.

Like gravity, humility is often a disregarded and unnoticed aspect of one’s life. It is only with recession that a seemingly normal society is destroyed.

Today, a man walked up to me and I shook his hand as I looked into his eyes. The eyes were aggressive and the hand was stiff. He stepped away and I thought, pondering the factors that contribute to such a primitive, underlying fury. Then I stepped back, my mind contemplating. Pride was the answer but its opposite, humility was the solution.

I sit back and rest on the concept on humility. The values and skills of open-mindedness, balance, self-awareness, and independence are its closest allusions. Yet, I find it so uniquely disturbing how modern ideals of society thrive and hinge on pride and selfishness.

– September 6, 2016

Leave a comment